Classic Rock n Roll

  Lynyrd Skynyrd 1987 Tribute Tour

10 Years Later - The Music Lives On

The Lynyrd Skynyrd Tribute Tour was undertaken to pay tribute to the original band members who died in the plane crash in 1977. The tour began in the fall of 1987, in honor of the 10-year anniversary of the crash. Original members Gary Rossington, Billy Powell and Leon Wilkeson were joined by Ed King (original member who had left the band in 1975), Artimus Pyle (drummer), Randall Hall and Johnny Van Zant.

Rossington, who had formed the original band with lead singer Ronnie Van Zant was initially reluctant to do the tour. He was, in the words of his wife Dale Krantz-Rossington, still "very emotional" about the preceding events and about the anniversary of the plane crash. Eventually, Rossington decided that if the tour was to be done right, and if his fallen colleagues were to be honored properly, that he should be involved. Ironically, Rossington is the sole remaining original member still touring with the band today.

Original guitarist and founding member, Allen Collins, was unable to play as a result of being paralyzed in a car crash in 1986. Collins served as musical director for the tour, picking setlists and making cameo appearances onstage. He chose former bandmate Randall Hall (who had played with Collins in the Allen Collins Band) to take his spot.

Ronnie Van Zant's youngest brother, Johnny, was chosen to assume the role of lead vocalist.

L to R: Johnny Van Zant, Randall Hall, Ed King, Artimus Pyle (drummer), Gary Rossington, Leon Wilkeson

L to R: Johnny Van Zant, Randall Hall, Ed King, Gary Rossington, Leon Wilkeson

Allen Collins

Gary Rossington

Front: Ronnie Van Zant
Middle L to R: Leon Wilkeson, Artimus Pyle, Billy Powell, Gary Rossington, Steve Gaines
Back: Allen Collins
(Pronounced 'Leh-'nérd 'Skin-'nérd)

'Historic' Lynyrd Skynyrd Website

Lynyrd Skynyrd Official Website

The Official Steve Gaines Website

The Official Artimus Pyle Website

The Official Ed King Website

Back to Woody's Concerts

© 2013 by Frank Wood, All rights reserved.